It’s finals week?

So apparently when you’re in college, you’re supposed to spend 10 intense weeks learning and studying, and then have 1 super crazy week of regurgitating everything you learnt. But in reality, you sit at your desk, staring at your textbooks for 10 weeks, pining to go outside and enjoy the fresh spring weather, and then spend one week cramming and stuffing all the information about the course into your brain to spit back out the next morning.

 

Just kidding. I’m not that kind of student. Well, what I mean is, I don’t procrastinate that well, and if I did, I’d be outside, not even pretending to read.

Since I can’t procrastinate, though, that just means that I have to sit in lecture and take notes (or sometimes pretend to take notes, or play games, or read the news — I never said I was a stellar student!), and then study pretty hard right before the tests. Usually, once finals week rolls around, I get stressed out, and memorize like no other.

 

But for some reason, this quarter, I just haven’t been feeling it. The entire quarter seems to have passed by in a daze, as though I were on auto-pilot. I still went to class, took the tests, read the textbooks. But I haven’t felt the intensity of schoolwork. Maybe it’s because the subjects I’m taking aren’t as intriguing — they’re required for my major, but not in it. Or maybe because the classes I’m taking are based more around conceptual knowledge than memorization of facts, which I have more trouble with.

Either way, it’s finals week, and it doesn’t feel like it. (Can you tell? That’s my study guide on the right there. Yea I know. It’s empty. Eek!) I was studying for a test yesterday and the only time I can say I really worked was when my roommate came back from the art building to take a shower before heading back out to work on her project. Somehow, seeing her tired and stressed out makes me productive.

 

That’s not to say that I wasn’t ENTIRELY unproductive. I had a fun time in the afternoon writing on the window (think Nash in A Beautiful Mind). It was quite exciting to channel Nash. I scribbled things onto the window, crossed them out, and arrow-ed others in. I felt cool, and mathematic. All of that…for my very own cookie recipe!

 

I was asked to make some double-chocolate cookies, and I knew he liked soft, moist, a-little-underbaked cookies, and that’s what I aimed for. I used cake flour, a higher-fat butter, and a little less flour-butter ratio. AND there’s some Nutella. That was an on-the-spot addition. The verdict? They were good! A little on the crumbly-soft side, but that may have been because they’d just come out of the oven.

So try them! And don’t think about tests, or evaluations, or stressful things. Feel like scientist as you’re in the kitchen, whipping up a batch of these. I won’t judge if you have a lab coat on instead of an apron. 😉

Double-Chocolate Nutella Cookies

(makes 2 dozen)

I got a few pointers from Stella Park’s BraveTart post: http://bravetart.com/blog/BestChocolateChipCookies#continued

1/2 c butter (I used Kerry’s, but that’s probably unnecessary)

1/2 c sugar

1 c cake flour

1/2 c cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp espresso powder ( I didn’t have any on hand, but I think it’d really enhance the chocolate flavor)

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 Tbsp Nutella (It’s only a light taste. If you want a stronger Nutella flavor, use up to 1/4 c)

1 c chocolate chips (Don’t know if I used that much – a lot accidentally tumbled out of the bag into the mix. heh)

2/3 c walnuts (optional)

You know the drill. Combine butter and sugar. Add in egg, then Nutella and vanilla. Whisk together all the dry ingredients, and add to wet. Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts. Chill dough for 30 minutes or overnight. Preheat oven for 350 degrees. Spoon 1/2 Tbsp dough onto parchment-lined cookie sheets, 2 inches apart. At this point, you can bake them, or flatten them a bit and freeze for later. Bake for 15 minutes, turning once halfway.

Enjoy with plenty of cold milk!

Leave a Reply

