Let’s Duel!

Remember Yu-Gi-Oh? With their super-spiky hair and “heart of the cards”. I used to play the Pokemon card game, and when drawing, I’d wish to the Heart of the Cards to give me the few good cards I had in my deck.

I’m turning 20 this weekend, but I’m pretty sure I haven’t grown up since I stopped growing taller. Now I just grow rounder and watch kids’ shows and eat kids’ food.

A lot of my friends have been urging me to watch a show called Avatar: The Last Airbender (not to be confused with either the movies called Avatar). I wasn’t really into it, since I’d seen the first episode and it’d seemed kind of…eh. Pretty familiar plotline of an evil king waging war on the rest of the world, and only one kid can save it. The humor was cringingly bad. Buuuuuuuut I finished/caught up on all my other series (Suits, Mad Men, etc etc all much more mature shows, I assure you), and I was stuck at home with nothing to do so….I finished the series. 2 of the 3 seasons of the first arc, as well as the third arc.

Don’t judge! These shows really grow on you. You see these kids facing tough situations, having to redeem their honor (Zuko x100000), and dealing with pretty real-life conflicts, like what to do when you’re supposed to kill someone but it’s against your personal philosophy. Ok, so not ACTUAL real-life conflicts, but that’s a pretty real concern, right??

All my favorite kids’ shows were like that: Pokemon and Ash, Digimon and the Digikids, Jackie Chan Adventures and Jackie Chan, Yu-Gi-Oh and well, Yu-Gi-Oh. And I love them all so much! And now Avatar’s on the list. Especially with that super-cute sky bison.

Image

Awww, aren’t you a cutie-patootie~  And you can ride him, too! Don’t worry, he really grows on you.

Apparently my taste in tv shows isn’t just looking back in time. So is my taste in dessert. The other night I had a hankering for Chocolate Molten Lava Cake. I used to get those frozen kind at the store, and savor one a week, until all 4 had run out. But this time, I made my own. In a competition. Against my boyfriend who’s more cook than baker. But I figure, if you can read/follow instructions, you can bake. We each found our own recipe and made two ramekins of each, with my roommate as judge.

Needless to say, though, I whupped him!

The first is my batter, the second was his batter (before adding eggs. But still)

And then, the first is my first one out of the oven, and the second is his first one

I laughed so hard when I saw his first cake unmolded!! I see The Scream!

But actually, his second one was pretty good. Especially since we took the melted parts of his first one and drizzled it on top of the second.

Mine was rich and decadent, while his was more like a brownie. He messed up with the sugar, though, since he used granulated instead of powdered, which I think made his cake harder to take out and take longer time in the oven even at a higher temperature.

Because of this, I don’t know how his recipe was supposed to turn out, so I’m only giving you the one I used. It was delicious and messy.

Chocolate-y + messy = Yummy!

Make it, and watch your favorite children’s show as you eat it!

Molten Lava Cake

from Dishes from my Kitchen

Makes 2 large portions in 4.5 oz ramekin

Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate – 4 oz (113g)
Butter – 4 oz (113g)
Eggs – 2
Sugar – 1/3 cup (75 g)
All-purpose Flour – 1/4 cup (40g)
Butter – for greasing ramekins

Method:
1. In a double boiler or microwave, melt chocolate.
2. In a medium mixing bowl, beat eggs and sugar until light and fluffy.
3. Once chocolate is melted, remove pan from heat and add in butter. Mix until the butter melts fully.
4. Add chocolate/butter mixture into the eggs, add all-purpose flour and mix until well incorporated.
5. Butter bottom and sides of ramekins  and pour in mixture about 3/4 way full.
6. Place ramekins on a baking tray and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit  for 10 – 15 minutes. Shorter for gooey (molten) inside, longer for stiff inside.
7. Serve hot with vanilla ice cream.
4 thoughts on “Let’s Duel!

  1. holy MOLY! your cake is so legit. and appa is the cutest of course!!

    trust me, growing rounder every year…you gotta see the bright side of things 😀

Leave a Reply

